Visiting Chrishall Archive

General Opening Hours

2 – 5 pm as follows:

  • The first Sunday of the month between Easter and October
  • Bank Holidays
  • Village Event days
  • Other times by arrangement

Opening hours for 2019

We look forward to welcoming you to the Archive in 2019.  We will be open on the following dates.

Sunday 21st April – Easter Sunday and our first opening of the year

Monday 22nd April – Easter Monday

Sunday 5th May

Monday 6th May

Monday 27th May

Sunday 2nd June

Sunday 7th July

Sunday 4th August

Monday 26th August

Sunday 1st September

Sunday 6th October – this will be our last regular opening of the year although you can request to visit the Archive at any time and we will always be happy to open up for you.

The collection

The collection comprises many written records from the village such as newsletters and parish council minutes.  There are also copies of the census returns and older church records.  There are interviews on tape and CD which we will be able to make available in due course and collections of photographs. We plan to have display boards for different topics and also some lists of collection items that you might like to browse.  There will be a suggestions box too so if there are things you would like to research or see in the collection do let us know.

How to find the Archive

The Archive is in Chrishall Pavilion on Jigneys Meadow.

Please park in the High Street, being careful to avoid private driveway access of course.  There is a footpath at the side of the old school where you can walk through onto the playing field (“Jigneys”).  You will find the Pavilion here to your right.

If you would like to ask about opening the Archive for a specific event please let us know on the form below:

3 + 6 =